People's Day of Catarman

An outreach mission dubbed as "People's Day of Catarman" was held on August 12 -13 at Barangay Baybay, Catarman, Northern Samar. The two-day medical and dental outreach mission were sponsored by the Armed Forces of the Philippines Central Command, 803rd Infantry Brigade of the Philippine Army, and the Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office. About 1,184 Northern Samarnons were served during the outreach mission, of these were 932 medical and 252 dental patients from Barangays Airport Village, Talisay, Abad Santos and Baybay. The outreach mission was the brainchild of Lt. Gen. Ike I. Inserto, Commander of the AFP Central Command, aimed at alleviating the living conditions of the poor.

Mr. William Medici, a Catarmanon who is the Regional Director of the PCSO based in Cebu City, facilitated the release of P75,000 worth of medicines.

Present during the People's Day of Catarman were Col. Eduardo del Rosario, commander of the 803rd Infantry Brigade, Vice Gov. Antonio P. Lucero, Mayor Alita E. Rosales, Brgy Chairwoman Mila Edria of Brgy Baybay, Brgy Chairwoman Yolanda Talavera of Brgy Airport Vilage, Brgy Chairwoman Pilar Adriasola of Brgy Talisay and Brgy Chairwoman Luz Marino of Brgy Abad Santos, Barangay Health Workers, and School Teachers of Brgy Baybay Elementary School whose classes were temporarily suspended to give way to the 2-day activity.


Lapinig - Special Agrarian Reform Community

The Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR) Central Office recently confirmed Lapinig, Northern Samar as a Special Agrarian Reform Community. Agrarian Reform Communities are beneficiaries of projects which will be implemented as part of the Comprehensive Agrarian Reform Program's support services component.

Agrarian Reform Communities are considered growth points in the countryside wherein projects extended by different stakeholders are implemented in order to improve agricultural production and increase household income in rural communities.

Studies have showed that Agrarian Reform Beneficiaries living within the Agrarian Reform Communities are better off than their counterparts in non-Agrarian Reform Communities.

Region 8 has now a total of 153 Agrarian Reform Communities, and about 59 of these are recipients of projects such as those funded by the World Bank (WB), Asian Development Bank (ADB), and the governments of Japan, Spain and Australia among others.

2008 National Literacy Awards Regional Awardees

Pursuant to DepEd Memorandum 59 series of 2008 entitled the 2008 Literacy Awards, Region 8 conducted the Regional Search for the awardees of the 2008 National Literacy Awards. The National Literacy Awards has two categories: the Outstanding Literacy Program Award and the Outstanding Local Government Unit Award.

And among the awardees are several Nortehanons or Northern Samar based personnel like Lt. Colonel Lenard T. Agustin, Commanding Officer of the 63rd Infantry (Innovator) Battalion of the 8th Infantry Division of the Philippine Army based in Barangay Opong, Catubig, Northern Samar, for Outstanding Literacy Program with project sites at Barangays Opong, Corocorong, Hangi and Guyo. Also cited were the Barangay Chairmen of those places: Teresita J. Casio, of Barangay Guyo, Las Navas, Northern Samar; Apolinar Tafala, Jr. of Brgy. Hangi, Las Navas, N. Samar; and Rolando Enero of Brgy Corocorong, San Roque, Northern Samar. The Outstanding Literacy Program Award, is given to a literacy program being implemented by a non-government or civic organization, academic institution, which has evident positive impact on the learners and the community.

Mayor Alfred Romualdez of Tacloban City, is the Regional awardee for Outstanding Local Government Unit, Component City Category. Tanauan, Leyte Mayor, Hon. Roque A. Tiu, is Regional awardee for the Outstanding Local Government Unit Municipal Category for the first to third class municipality. With him, Barangay Captain Claro Fulton P. Morantte of Barangay Licod, Tanauan was also cited. For the Outstanding Local Government Unit fouth to sixth class municipality category, Mayor Pedro V. Fustanes, Jr. Of Bontoc, Southern Leyte is the Regional Awardee. The Local Government Unit Award shall be given to a local government unit, city or municipal government, which has developed policies, programs and projects conducive to literacy development and which have efficaciously made a positive impact on the barangays and the quality of life of the people.

The 2008 National Literacy Awards is a project of the Literacy Coordinating Council and the Department of Education, in support of the National Government's commitment to achieve the United Nations Millennium Development Goal of reducing adult illiteracy by half in 2015, and consequently improve the quality of life of the Filipino.

The awards will be distributed during the 33rd Founding Anniversary of the Department of Education Regional Office 8 on August 21-22, 2008.