Historical Landmarks of Northern Samar

The Sangguniang Panlalawigan of Northern Samar, presided by Vice Governor Atty. Antonio P. Lucero, recently passed an ordinance authored by 2nd Dist. Board Member Albert A. Lucero, declaring seven churches and two lighthouses as historical landmarks of the Province of Northern Samar.

The historical landmarks are the Roman Catholic Churches of Bobon, Catarman, Catubig, Capul, Laoang, Pambujan and the ruins of the Palapag Church. While the Lighthouse of Batag in Laoang and the Lighthouse in San Luis, in Capul Island were also declared as Provincial Historical Landmarks.

On the island of Batag, in Laoang town sits an old American-era lighthouse, which was an important beacon for ships coming in from the open Pacific and moving towards the San Bernardino Strait. Capul Island is also topped by a Spanish lighthouse and the sea surrounding the island is littered with dozens of sunken Spanish galleons, some laden with silver and treasure.

Provincial Board Member Lucero noted that the province of Northern Samar is rich in culture and heritage and that it has historical landmarks as the evidenced by the centuries old churches and lighthouses.

In passing the ordinance the legislators of Northern Samar cited Section 16 of the Local Government Code of 1991 which provides that "every local government unit shall exercise the powers expressly granted, those necessarily implied therefrom, as well as powers necessary, appropriate, or incidental of its efficient and effective governance, and those which are essential to the promotion of the general welfare. Within their respective territorial jurisdictions, local government units shall ensure and support among others, the preservation and enrichment of culture x x x and preserve the comfort and convenience of the inhabitants."

No comments:

Post a Comment